sharing the love

Standard

Our youngest daughter quietly slips into my studio. I can feel her staring through me to the table filled with art supplies.

“Mommy, can I paint on one of your squares?”

Sure baby – what do you want to paint?

“A heart on fire.”

Well, that made me stop and think. I offered her everything I had. She carefully chose the colours and I laid them out on a palette. She picked her brushes and set to work. What a joy to behold – someone free to try something new. My part in this creative adventure was to encourage and equip. Everything else belongs to her.

There is someone, somewhere in your life that you can open a door for. Art, writing, dance, humour – there is a creative gift you have to offer. When you do, you are the one who gains the most. Go set a heart on fire…

3 responses »

  1. I love this post!

    Sure baby – what do you want to paint?

    “A heart on fire.”

    This says so much about both you and your daughter.

    I also like your thought: My part in this creative adventure was to encourage and equip. Everything else belongs her.

  2. I loved this too. The concept of hearts set on fire is not new (usually to do with falling in love with someone or some object/idea/cause) but, in the context of encouraging people to explore their creative instincts, it feels different and very exciting. I am so pinching it! Hope that’s OK, Beth.

Leave a Reply

