perspective from the 5th floor

Standard

my view – a daughter’s bedside

.

.

This past week, my eldest daughter and I checked into Glasgow’s Yorkhill children’s hospital for 5 days of pain treatment.

I brought a little sketchbook and my Sharpie markers to help pass the time, but the process helped me do much more than that.

I found myself looking for better views of our present circumstance. And eventually I saw beauty even in that grey place – not just out the windows, but through the people we were with.

When you choose to see differently, there really are better things to see. I couldn’t draw the efficient staff running around or the little heroes in pink casts and wheelchairs, but I could shift my position (and my attitude) to sketch the views from our ward.

view straight out our  windows – The Queen Mother’s Maternity Hospital, built in 1964 – now closed

same windows, different viewpoint

Riverside Museum of Transport on the River Clyde

the Tall Ship at Riverside

If you are in a hard place, my wish is that these little windows give you some HOPE for a better view.

I encourage you to see differently today.

6 responses »

  1. Wonderful drawings! What a lovely perspective, too, Beth, to take a bad circumstance and look at it from a different way. Your daughter is lucky to have your good example. I hope everything went well. Best wishes to you!

  2. I hope the pain treatments went well…
    the drawings are great. What I love about art, specifically drawing is tthe way it forces you to see the world differently than the casual observer. And one of the great survival tricks we have available to us is the ability to see the positive in the negative situation.
    Prayers for your family…

  3. What a great outlet you have in your skills as an artist.
    I hope all is well with your daughter.

Leave a Reply

