a slow-opening window

Standard

Sometimes we can be encouraged by another’s struggle.

Not the “ha-ha-ha they’re losing” kind of selfishness, but the “I’m not the only one!” kind of solace. With that in mind,

I am showing you some of my own slow progress to bring an innocent little sketch into a full-grown painting.

Three layers of background colours later and I am still comparing & wondering:

where did those burgundy clouds actually come from???

Before I commit to this major compositional shift, I mock-up different sizes of window frame to see what will and will NOT work.This part isn’t going as smoothly as I had anticipated. sigh.

That little bird has hopped all around the sill,

but is reminds me of hope and life in the midst of decisions and frustrations. The bird stays!

Yet another window frame…too many to show them all to you here…but this one’s getting closer. I think.

The clouds are slowly moving in the right direction.

New layers and finer details are finally starting to take shape.

.

If you are working hard but seemingly getting nowhere fast, you are not alone.

Your project – goal – dream has value.  It is worth the process. Don’t give up now.

.

.

4 responses »

  1. Beth, what a wonderful glimpse you’ve offered into the process. I could both see and feel your struggle! Your sketch is lovely; I can see why you’d want to get that feeling in a painting. It does seem like you’re getting it, too! It’s coming together beautifully. What a brave offering, thank you!

Leave a Reply

