these boots were made for…

Standard

Maybe up-cycling a pair of boots isn’t a high form of art, but I found the process creative and fun. This little project inspired me more than I had expected. So here’s the story:

I own an old pair of “leatherette” boots that had seen better days.

After taking them into town for new soles, I began working on giving them a new life to match.

I ordered a specialized dye kit off ebay. This company has many striking colours to choose from and it’s not expensive.

Not wanting a solid coloured boot, I chose areas to pick out first so I could go over them several times before drying.

I then swept a thin wash of dye over the entire boot, leaving several voids on purpose. The drying time was about 5 hours, which I used to blacken the heels, edge the soles and drink cinnamon coffee. When dry, I coated the boots with a soft shine waterproofing.

Now these boots speak a little bit about my life…

See, at one point I thought I’d lost my art, my colours. But then I was found again,

and I discovered that my journey was just getting started.

So I’m walking – running – crawling – dancing this season a day at a time. The pace is ever-changing but I know more now of where I’m heading, even when it is just because of what’s been left behind.

Some rain and tears have fallen and will fall again, but there is so much more to walk towards,

and I choose to walk this way well, for myself  and for those that follow after.

It is never too late to start…or even to start again…

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

