sitting underneath the underpainting

Standard

It’s the October week holiday here in Scotland which means lots of kids all over my house. Which means lots of noise and laundry and food dispersion. Which means not a lot of painting. However, in order to keep some of my marbles, I set up the beginnings of a painting in our yet-to-be-finished but has-tons-of-space-and-light extension…

the spot:

the paint:

the apprentice:

I started with a canvas I’d washed blue several weeks ago. Yesterday, I drew in some ideas and left it at that. Today I decided to put down some colours that could peek out later on in the work. Knowing that I wouldn’t be able to stay focused for any length of time with a Jedi on my couch, I didn’t take myself too seriously. Instead it was about enjoying the shifting light and the process and the company.

About the time my paint starts to add up, I like to do a little subtracting. I scrape, I draw. I’ve found this process helps define the spaces, and many times I discover new movement through the composition.

Sooner rather than later, I was called to shoot some bad guys, put wood on the fire and make sandwiches (again). But I was able to get far enough with this piece that I can leave it for awhile to sit and soak up the atmosphere.

And I like that the work shows, that the “undone” is part of this piece right now. It’s not all about a perfect picture. It is about how the parts are progressing. Be encouraged.

2 responses »

  1. how lovely to see the process and the artistin action, i have four children and never seem to focus for long to paint but i like that you are able to put it down and come back to it. I think i will develop a skill to help marinade my art work , in between being a mum too.

    • Hello Vanessa – thank you. Yes, for a long time I put my artwork aside because I was used to working in a certain way. When I could no longer have “studio time” or spread myself out everywhere, I got really lost. What I have discovered is that in making the effort to do some expression, it finds the space to grow. My journey back to art started with a 30 day sketchbook challenge. 🙂 I wish you well in your journey.

Leave a Reply

