tapping in

Standard

We do not always recognize how much we have to give, what there is within us to access. Wisdom, experience, creativity, skill, talent, vision – these things can get locked down and covered with dust unless we purpose otherwise.

It was a very Tolkien day out on the farm with sun-lit mist and cloud. I decided to put everything aside for 20 minutes, grab my camera and tromp out into the freezing air to snap some pictures. The first photo is my favourite. I’ve done nothing to it – no cropping, no lighting, no filters. This picture is a combination of a moment in the atmosphere and my willingness to see it and engage with what I carry to get the shot.

These next photographs were taken on the same morning ~

I’ve worked on the lighting and colours to push them forward, to see where they could go…

After a long period of inactivity, I could have hesitated – I could have talked myself out of the moment. I’m so glad I didn’t.

What you have to give is waiting to be given.

Be encouraged today.

5 responses »

  1. Beth, these are all wonderful. I think the first one is my favorite, too, but then I waver. I love how you pushed and pulled the depths by altering the colors…and that spider’s web is just amazing! Thanks!

  2. Thank you, Cindy – the process helps me engage with the “painting” side of things. Sometimes it I get really good ideas for a painting this way. I thought the drops of water were amazing too!

  3. I love these shots…your use of light- the sun streaming through fog- and my personal favorite- the black cat 🙂

Leave a Reply

