going deeper – the benefits of homework

Standard

The word “homework” does not usually conjure up thoughts of beautiful paint, free-flowing colours or words, music improvisation and the like. Let’s face facts, it’s not a favourite pastime for most folks. But in order to take your flight of fancy higher, you need a depth of experience backing you up.

Am I saying that good work can’t come from a free fall of creativity? No way. I’ve had times when something wonderful surfaces from my jumping into the deep end. But I’ve also fallen flat on my face in sheer frustration because I could not express what was in my heart to say. In comes the homework. I posted some of mine last week:  https://theartofencouragement.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/in-flight/  Below is the finished piece. I was able to start and finish the painting in a wonderful live art setting. Instead of struggling with unknown structures, I was able to relax and enjoy the process from a place of readiness…

P1150813

P1150807

Take the time to study line, words, notes, structure…get a grip on new products, tools, styles, compositions – write these things on the inside of you so that they can flow out easily as you engage with your creativity. Do your homework. You won’t regret it. Be encouraged today!

4 responses »

    • Thank you so much Ian! The colours were a part of the “in the moment” painting live – especially the feathers. I’d not planned their colours beforehand, which made it all the more pleasing to watch as they turned out.

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. I’ve been seeing so many wings lately while in prayer. And also really wanting to learn how to paint them. This is so rich. Thank you for sharing. This piece speaks so much into my spirit! Ahhhhhh I can breathe! 🙂

  2. Wow beautiful and meaningful..

    Thought came to me – Spirit hovered over the waters but it was dark that was before light was spoken and substance (our world) and us came into being..
    Full circle.. Now the Spirit hovers over the waters but there is already light and substance..
    To me this signifies something great about to come to earth as we know it.. A great movement of the Spirit.

    Because at the first time the Spirit hovered over the dark waters creation was formed..

    This time the Spirit is hovering over the waters and there is Light..
    What great & mighty things will happen now if now there is light when Spirit hovers..
    /
    We humanly see much darkness..
    There is great hope in this for the whole world..

    Isaiah 60:1-3
    1Arise, shine; for your light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen on you. 2For, behold, the darkness shall cover the earth, and gross darkness the people: but the LORD shall arise on you, and his glory shall be seen on you. 3And the Gentiles shall come to your light, and kings to the brightness of your rising. …

Leave a Reply

